My blog: Berath dozes

I’ve  been a bit low on the posts so far this month. This has been for a number of reasons. First, I think I’ve been suffering a bit from the infamous pre-expansion torpor. SoM is out soon, much has been done in MoM; time for a little break apart from Raiding and some gentle alting.

Secondly, we’ve started a kin group on Steam. I already had an account, attracted by the zombies I’d bought Left 4 Dead, the co-op zombie killing game, a while ago. However I hadn’t really used Steam much apart from playing that from time to time. Anyhow, forming the group prompted me to explore some of the other games, and after recommendation from unwize, I bought this wonderful little point-and-click  indie adventure game called Machinarium; it’s got robots in, and if there is one thing I might be more into than zombies, it’s robots.

Zombie robots: nirvana

So immediately that has been taking up time; from LoTRO as well as blogging. And now Left 4 Dead 2 is out. Bigger and better. Even more zombie killing than Left 4 Dead, which I’m still playing.  So far I have played part of a single-player game one co-op game and the demo; again both single-player and as part of a successful attempt to persuade one of my kinmates to buy the full version. So there should be plenty more zombie fun in the future.

Finally, and this is something I’ve noticed since I started playing LoTRO, I don’t half talk. Sometimes I’ve  logged on and spent most of the time  just talking; carrying on conversations in fellowship chat, kinship chat, Teamspeak and a couple over tells. Now, with Steam because it starts when I boot up, I don’t even have to log onto LoTRO and I’m presented with communication opportunities. So that’s as far as I get. This did surprise me, I’ve never thought of myself as a big chatterer. But then I remembered at middle school I was never allowed to sit with my best friend because we used to talk constantly through lessons; ever so often the teacher would give us another chance and we’d blow it. So, in fact, all that’s happened is that since playing LoTRO I’ve regressed back to the age of 9. Now where’s my skipping rope….?

About Berath

Interests: zombies, giant robots, kittens

Posted on November 21, 2009, in gaming, robots, zombies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I should probably have put up a blog post saying I’m taking it slowly before SoM. Also getting used to being back home.

    And heh, I never knew I was a talker either, and look at me on TS. I think I should probably tone it down.

  2. Hehe..it’s amazing how we always manage to surprise ourselves!

  3. From my POV, it’s really good to have one or two (at most) inveterate chatterers. It always feels really weird when I fire up Teamspeak, put my headset on and…
    nothing happens. There can be half a dozen people sitting in the lobby area of the server, all of whom have made a special effort to be there, and … dead silence.

    Having somebody rabbiting on saves me from feeling oppressed into starting a conversation just to be sociable (partly because I find forced conversation quite peculiar. I guess the other silent people are in the same boat). But I’m quite happy to join in somebody else’s waffling.

    If you’re actively doing something else at the same time (gives Arbitrary a hard stare ;) it’s probably better to stay on topic

    • That’s why I usually wait until someone says lets move to TS or invites me in; I’m like a vampire that way! But once I’m in I tend to stay there like chewing gum stuck to the floor.

    • we’ve never lost a fight because I was talking about chocolate ;p

      Some people just need to learn to multi-task better.

      I guess as a group of 6, we got comfortable with talking about all sorts while we fought, and don’t always realise some people like to concentrate.

      • Some of the hard stare is jealousy on my part. Having never been to Dar Narbugud (first visit tomorrow, and scared!), I don’t know how much attention is required. I certainly can’t keep up with the Kin Chat channel when I’m in a fight, yet you seem to be relaxed, and typing away while still keeping the fight under control!

        Talking is obviously a different kettle of fish from typing, requiring less multitasking of the fingers. Assuming, of course, that it’s not interfering with raid instructions or emergencies. These days I’m fairly relaxed about the Turtle, for example. Since I’m neither tanking or healing, it’s mostly just running through the usual routine, and reapplying buffs when they expire. Talking over that’s not going to cause me trouble. I’m assuming that DN is *hard*, and requires full attention. I’ll be disappointed if it doesn’t :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

