Unwelcome Moves in the console world

As well as my beloved PC, I also have a PS3, I bought it over the summer.  I didn’t have the time to play all the games I wanted on my PC so it seemed a logical step to buy a console so that I wouldn’t have the time to play all the games I wanted to on that as well.

Anyhow, I bought a few games and was lent a couple more. I bought a HDTV to go with it. It was all very nice and I discovered the joy of sitting comfortably on the sofa, in my front room, playing games on my new big television. Just right after a day at work.

But then I heard of this thing called Playstation Move (the equivalent for XBox 360 being the Kinetic). Suddenly Playstation Move seemed to be the next big thing – a motion-sensing game controller. First thought: well why, second thought: are development resources going to start to be diverted towards adapting games  and producing second-rate games for Move. I was concerned. And now I have heard that the Heavy Rain Chronicles prequel DLC (Heavy Rain: interesting, well thought of game) has been put on hold to allow for the development of  a Move-adapted edition of the original game. I am not happy, are we going to see more of this?

And this takes me back to my first thought ‘Why?’. Why would I want a motion controlled sensor to play my games? If I want to leap around the room playing computer games I would buy a Wii. Don’t get me wrong, I’m all for interesting and different games’ interfaces but not at the cost of the games I might want to play and not when I don’t see them serving a purpose; Guitar Hero 2 – yes, Gears of War 2 – no. And I don’t want to come home of an evening, and instead of quietly sitting on my sofa with my D-pad, have to jump up and flail and lunge as I duel sheep or shoot orcs on-screen. What about the poor sod who is trying to read a book next to you? What about the cat? Lara Croft needs to leap off a cliff; I have to climb onto the table and jump off to make it happen – is this where it’ll end? Is this where it’s going?

I must say, I’m starting to take an extremely dim view of it all.

And thank goodness the PC seems happy to stick with the good old mouse and keyboard combo.

About Berath

Interests: zombies, giant robots, kittens

Posted on September 26, 2010, in console, gaming and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. On the plus side, when you’re playing Civ, you really get to smite the poor sods!

    (Whadda you mean, you’re not playing Civ? Why, yes! This comment was an entirely gratuitous plug :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 87 other followers

