League of Legends: why Team Builder scares me

I played two games of League the other night.

The first was  in Team Builder. The other was a normal Blind Pick.

In the Team Builder game I picked  Morgana support. I was the last to arrive and we went straight into a game.

It soon became clear that my team knew what they were doing. They were timing buffs, they had a jungler who was actually jungling and they took Dragon. I’m the first to admit that my Morgana is not brilliant. She’s not my favourite champ, I find her functional rather than fun and I’m still getting used to her skill shots and cooldowns.  I ended up laning with a Twitch who snapped at me a couple of times for missing shields and it felt pretty pressured. We actually won, I found myself soloing their nexus ( I’ve no memory of where everyone else was) but throughout the entire game I felt I was running to catch up with the rest of the team in skill and knowledge.

Afterwards, I checked their profiles. All were level 30, I’m level 29. Three were playing ranked (Bronze but still); everyone had won more than three times the number of games I had. I was outclassed.

In the second game, I decided I wanted to try jungling on my newest champ, Amumu. I’d read some jungling guides, watched videos and practiced with bots. I was ready to go! The team composition was fair. We had a top Jax, Twitch ADC, Katarina mid; and a Teemo…as support I guessed. Everyone seemed fine with Amumu wherever he was going.  However once the game started no-one seemed to really care what anyone was doing. Teemo started to roam almost immediately. I started off ready to jungle, full of enthusiasm but it soon became obvious that the other team had no intention of jungling and their Pantheon and Yi were going to stay top. So, with a little sigh, I sold my Quill Coat which I’d already bought and stayed top with Jax.

No-one flamed, though Teemo had some trouble,  complaining at our Kat, largely because at one stage she leggged it leaving him to die, I’m not too sure who to, because I was running alongside her. Sometimes to stay is to die. For some reason Teemo had decided that Kat was the one responsible for keeping him alive against all odds, and now demanded that she be reported. He ignored my contribution in his death, maybe because he didn’t know what Amumu was.  After that, Kat received a couple more complaints in  similar vein, but seemed to find it amusing rather than anything else. Poor Teemo lost heart at this stage and kept putting up surrender votes which were largely ignored and insisting that we vote YES because we were going to LOOSE!!!!!

We didn’t. The other team surrended instead (their Nidalee was afk).

I looked up Teemo’s profile when we’d finished. It was like a small glimpse of insanity. Every game they’d played Teemo. Every. Single. One. Row after row after row after row of that inane, chirpy, grinning face filling their match history……worrying.

Teemo_0

Teemo aka Satan. Cutest Champ in League. Small, fast; deadly with poisonous invisible mushrooms. It’s said that if the Great Old One Cthulhu had an alternate form it would be Teemo.

So, one Team Builder game stressful with players above my level, the other Blind Pick; with players pitched just about right, yes, even the Teemo. This has happened before. The TB matchmaking isn’t quite right; it’s separate from Blind Pick. The more games you play, the better it gets, but that still means there’s a time when you’re likely to be playing with much better players with specific expectations of you in the role you’ve queued in. The worst behaviour I’ve seen in League has all been in Team Builder with higher level players raging. It makes me wary of playing Team Builder unless I’m playing a role I’m confident with on one of my comfort picks.

About Berath

Interests: zombies, giant robots, kittens

Posted on July 9, 2014, in League of Legends and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

